Birchbox.

Anyone getting into this subscription box/bag craze lately?

I was once drooling over the Glam Bag (the company is now known as Ipsy, the bag’s still called Glam Bag).

I want to say this was about 4 years ago. I believe it was, because I was heading off to England to start my study abroad, and Glam Bag at the time didn’t do international shipping. I remember being very bummed….

(My name really should be “ Offona Tangent.”)

Anyway, the Ipsy Glam Bag sends you makeup bags filled with cosmetic samples for $10 a month. I went to register recently, though, and they’re not accepting subscriptions at the moment.

Fortunately, Birchbox is.

That’s another subscription company. You get a monthly box of health and beauty samples for the same price as Ipsy.

Now, there are loads of categories of subscription boxes: Healthy foods, hair care, pets, “adult”… But I’m more into cosmetics and skincare, so companies like Birchbox, Ipsy, Beauty Army, etc…appeal to me.

So I bought myself a Birchbox, but wasn’t sure if I wanted it, so I cancelled it the same day. They informed me they’d still be charging me and sending me the first box. No biggie, I figured. At least I could see if it was worth it.

Christmas Day, and what should I receive other than a year’s subscription to Birchbox from my sister. Unexpected as fuck, considering I’d never even discussed subscription boxes with her.

Unexpected, but very appreciated. No way in hell $110 is coming out of MY pocket for a year’s worth of samples. No matter how cute they are.

Now I’ve got two boxes. Pictured above. I haven’t tried all the products yet, but a packet of tea is missing because I couldn’t resist the sound of peach and passion fruit.

You get some decent-sized samples. Enough to decide if you like the product or not.

I’ve tried one of the nail polishes and it looks pretty good, doesn’t chip easily. I’ve gotten some perfume samples, hair crème, leave in conditioner, moisturizer, lip balm…So far, not too bad I’d say.

3 thoughts on “Birchbox.

  1. Wow, I just looked at it on Pinterest and it looks so good! I’m signing up, probably not for a whole year, but at least a couple of months!

Leave a Reply

