Thanks.

The weather is stunning here today. I can feel a slight nip in the breeze through the warm sunlight. I love this time of year.

I was coming back from the Red Cross a little while ago, driving along with the windows down, unashamedly singing (not well, mind you) an ‘NSYNC song at the top of my lungs, when I thought of how good things are right now. It’s nearly Thanksgiving, so my mentioning of things I’m thankful for isn’t at all misplaced.

I have my good health. The support of my loving and nurturing family. True friends. A boyfriend who loves the shit out of me. A chance to do good things in the community that raised me. Three jobs, after months of unemployment, so I can actually buy some good presents this year. When I wake up in the morning, I stretch. And then I smile. Because life is good.

I know things won’t always be so. Someone once told me that life is like the tides; during the course of the journey, you can experience the highest of highs, while other times you’re wondering how you got so very low.

It’s going to be a sucky holiday season for my family. We suffered a great loss shortly before last Christmas. And it will be tough. But I will smile, and be strong for my family (especially Mother). Because loss is part of life. That’s the way it goes.

So I’ll continue to enjoy this. Make the most of every day. Keep letting my loved ones know how much they mean to me, while disregarding and ignoring any unnecessary negativity that may come my way. I simply don’t have the time, desire, or mental space to entertain it.

I feel awesome today. And in general. About my new opportunities, all the love that surrounds me…and about myself. A stranger called me a beautiful young lady today, so that doesn’t exactly hurt things. I’m thankful for compliments. They make me feel good about myself.

I’m thankful for having food in the fridge and cupboards.

I’m thankful for being able to play Pandora on my tv. It’s so convenient.

I’m thankful for all the times my freshly painted nail polish didn’t chip after leaving the house.

I’m thankful the nice policeman with the flashing lights pulled over that other guy instead of me the other day (not that I did anything wrong, I’m just paranoid).

I’m thankful for having had grandparents who shared their wisdom, craziness, odd sayings, and incredible cooking with me throughout my life.

I’m thankful for the welcome cards I got in the post, signed by the news team at my new job.

I’m thankful for my annoying, beautiful, stubborn, intelligent, obnoxious, supportive sister.

I’m thankful for the new H&Ms that have popped up in town.

I’m thankful to discover I didn’t die in my sleep every morning I wake up. Let’s save that for old age.

Yeah. I’m feelin’ pretty fucking full of thanks right about now. I’m practically stuffed.

How about you?

One thought on “Thanks.

Leave a Reply

