Good Deeds.

A few months ago, I wrote a blog about a book of 365 good deeds that I picked up from Anthropologie. The link is here:

https://brokeblackandbackhome.wordpress.com/2013/07/21/365-deeds-for-brokie-b/

I got off track and haven’t been doing deeds according to the book necessarily, but I have been doing random ones every now and then. I thought maybe I would, at first, do the deeds in order, but then I had a little flick through the book and realized some, on certain days, appealed to me more than others. So that’s what I’ll do, from now on.

Something I noticed with this book is a lot of the deeds aren’t just about generosity towards others; but also about showing kindness toward myself. I can be quite mean to myself sometimes, so those particular good deeds may definitely come in handy.

I mentioned briefly a few blogs ago that I’d finally gotten my driver’s license, after putting it off for about 8 years due to my dislike of being in the driver’s seat. After having learned that I’d passed, my instructor walked me inside and started getting my license ready to print. He asked if I wanted to be an organ donor. I didn’t even think about it; I said yes.

I’d previously given it some thought and figured if something should happen to me, God forbid, there’s no reason perfectly usable organs should go to waste if I won’t be needing them. So there’s one of my good deeds. And it’s there in bright red letters on my license as a reminder. I also became a bone marrow donor when I was in university; they recently sent me an updated donor card. I don’t think marrow donation is in the good deeds book, but let’s just pretend.

Something else I’ve been wanting to do is re-join the American Red Cross as a volunteer. I started when I was 14 and haven’t been active in years. I attended orientation last night, and I’ll be contacted soon about setting up an interview. I’m excited about this, I’d love to feel like I’m actually helping people who need assistance. I’m particularly interested in helping out with disaster relief and blood drives, but I’d be open to any opportunity to lend a hand. So there’s three deeds right there. Many more to go.

5 thoughts on “Good Deeds.

  1. Wow! Amazing post. Your post hit close to home for me. Extremely close. I am a recipient of a kidney transplant as well as blood transfusions. I am grateful every single day that I am alive because of amazing people like you who make the choice to donate. People don’t really think about organ and blood donation. I mean who wants to think about dying and what happens to their organs afterwards! Not particularly a conversation people feel like discussing. I just think people are not aware until they or a loved one ends up in a dire situation and requires an organ donation to stay alive.
    I could go on and on but I’ll spare everyone!!
    However, I wanted to let you know first hand what an absolutely selfless and incredible act of humanity you are willing to give (God forbid) if something happens to you.
    I wrote a brief post on my kidney transplant experience.
    Its in ‘Laura’s Diary’ category titled ‘General Hospital: Real Life Edition’
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this subject on your blog! Awareness is critical. Knowledge is power.
    You rock!
    Laura πŸ™‚

    • I just read your incredible story. I’m so sorry you had to go through all that suffering, I can’t believe you were misdiagnosed so many times! Anyway, I’m really glad you’re here now to share your story, and thank goodness for your mother. When I read that she was your kidney donor, I got teary eyed. It’s for people like you that I’ve decided to become a donor. Thanks so much for stopping by πŸ™‚

  2. Brilliant .. I love doing good deeds and RAK’s and have been donating blood for as long as I can remember! I recently joined the British Red Cross and am currently part-way through my induction and training (tomorrow is Manual handling!) and hope to be called upon for both Event First Aid and the new Fire and Emergency Support Service here in Hampshire too! Exciting stuff and I wish you luck and look forward to hearing about your deeds!

Leave a Reply

