Freaked Out Friday.

Ghosts, spirits, the paranormal…do you believe in them? I wasn’t too sure if I did. It does interest me. I like horror films to do with these things; I used to read Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark; I let my sister trick me into staying in the bathroom while she tried to summon evil spirits by chanting their names in the mirror; I enjoyed the drunken ghost stories my best mate would often tell me while we stumbled through Liverpool. I never had any personal experiences to confirm that any of these things were real. I see stories all the time about crazy encounters people have with paranormal beings but nothing’s really happened to me.

Anyway, on to the point of this post. My sister, my mother’s best friend, her daughter and I went on a ghost tour tonight. (From now on, my mother’s best friend will be referred to as “aunt”, because that’s basically what she is. And it’s less wordy.) I’ve always wanted to go on one. My best friend and I never did get around to going on the Shiverpool ghost tour in Liverpool, despite me spending the bulk of the last two years in England. Maybe next time.

I’ll keep this post short as I can, I don’t want to ramble on. So we went to a town called Monticello, a short drive away from Tallahassee. The ghost tour guide in The Daffodale House claimed it’s one of the most haunted little towns in the country. AnotherSpiced Teacups group of people joined us in the cluttered old house for the tour. The guide instructed us to, if we had smartphones, download a ghost radar app and use it while on the tour. It would pick up readings and say random words to me, but obviously I’m very doubtful of its accuracy. And I made damn sure to delete it before coming back home. Just in case.

Half of me, drinking lovely tea.

Half of me, drinking lovely tea.

I was more focused on doing what he also told us we should do, take loads of photos to spot the spirits, than I was on the actual stories he was telling. The photos I’ll post here aren’t the ones I snapped for spotting ghosts. These are just random things I found interesting. There really was a lot of stuff, well….stuffed into that house.

I’d spotted nothing yet. Some people had a bit of luck, but I was still unconvinced. Then, as my aunt’s daughter and I climbed the stairs, we both felt a very heavy sensation on our bodies, like something was weighing us down. It was like I’d been running and was exhausted from the effort. My heart began to race and I told my sister, while my friend told her mother. We were the only ones to have felt this, to my understanding. It was the strangest thing that’s ever happened to me.

A random stoplight.

A random stoplight.

Throughout the tour in and around the house, we saw nothing out of the ordinary. That brief experience was the most that happened. I still feel a bit odd about it and am unsure what to attribute it to, because I was focused on my cell phone photos and climbing the stairs when it happened.

Antiques.

Antiques.

 Anyway. That’s my small and insignificant paranormal experience.

A doll.

A doll.

The lanterns we used for the outdoor portion of the tour.

The lanterns we used for the outdoor portion of the tour.

Leave a Reply

