An Announcement.

Scribbled thoughts in a notebook, in the early hours of June 15, 2013

It’s 6:30a.m. I’ve just woken up and realized that I am happy. I don’t know if it’s anything to do with these ridiculously comfy Walt Disney World Resort pillows on which I’m resting my head; or that, after a 14-year-long wait, I’ve finally gotten the Harry Potter wand I’ve desired since I was nine; or that I’m newly single; or that I’m spending quality time with my mom for the first time in ages; or that I once again reside on a continent where I don’t struggle to understand basic English…

You know, now that I’m thinking about it, it’s probably the wand. Yeah.

I’m jotting this down by cell phone light so I don’t wake my mother. Reminds me of another thing to be happy about: after a year of sleeping next to the same person I realized how much I quite prefer sleeping alone in a room. No worries about waking the other person with my scribbles at odd hours of the night, and the light necessary to make said scribbles. More importantly, no concerns about farting quietly as possible. Though, to be honest, I realized I didn’t like “roomie”-style living back in my university days, so I suppose my previous relationship has only renewed that realization. I digress.

I’m happy. I’ve never been more excited about the future, and have never been less certain of what’s to happen next. It’s different. But I’m warming to it. After all, you can’t plan everything. Though, I’ve got all these ideas of what I want my life to look like, just bouncing around in my head. Now I can finally get started. I’m excited, yet at the same time, I feel a sense of calm, a sense of peace I’ve not felt since…well. I can’t actually remember. So I’ll enjoy it while it lasts.

4 thoughts on “An Announcement.

Leave a Reply

